It's YASH Time!!

Welcome to YA Scavenger Hunt! This bi-annual event was first organized by author Colleen Houck as a way to give readers a chance to gain access to exclusive bonus material from their favorite authors...and a chance to win some awesome prizes! At this hunt, you not only get access to exclusive content from each author, you also get a clue for the hunt. Add up the clues, and you can enter for our prize--one lucky winner will receive one book from each author on the hunt in my team! But play fast: this contest (and all the exclusive bonus material) will only be online for 72 hours!

Go to the YA Scavenger Hunt page to find out all about the hunt. There are eight contests going on simultaneously, and you can enter one or all! I am a part of the BLUE TEAM--but there is also a red team, an orange team, a gold team, a green team, a teal team, a blue team, a purple team, and a pink team for a chance to win a whole different set of books!

If you'd like to find out more about the hunt, see links to all the authors participating, and see the full list of prizes up for grabs, go to the YA Scavenger Hunt page.

SCAVENGER HUNT PUZZLE

Directions: Below, you'll notice that I've hidden my favorite number. Collect the favorite numbers of all the authors on the BLUE team, and then add them up (don't worry, you can use a calculator!). 

Entry Form: Once you've added up all the numbers, make sure you fill out the form here to officially qualify for the grand prize. Only entries that have the correct number will qualify.

Rules: Open internationally, anyone below the age of 18 should have a parent or guardian's permission to enter. To be eligible for the grand prize, you must submit the completed entry form by DATE, at noon Pacific Time. Entries sent without the correct number or without contact information will not be considered.

Are you ready to hunt??


I'm hosting Clara Kensie, author of AFTERMATH:

Clara is a RITA© Award-winning author of dark fiction for young adults. Her latest release is AFTERMATH, a dark, ripped-from-the-headlines YA contemporary novel in the tradition of ROOM and THE LOVELY BONES. AFTERMATH (Simon and Schuster/Merit Press) is on Goodreads’ list of Most Popular Books Published in November 2016, and Young Adult Books Central declared it a Top Ten Book of 2016.


Charlotte survived four long years as a prisoner in the attic of her kidnapper, sustained only by dreams of her loving family. The chance to escape suddenly arrives, and Charlotte fights her way to freedom. But an answered prayer turns into heartbreak. Losing her has torn her family apart. Her parents have divorced: Dad's a glutton for fame, Mom drinks too much, and Charlotte's twin is a zoned-out druggie. Her father wants Charlotte write a book and go on a lecture tour, and her mom wants to keep her safe, a virtual prisoner in her own home. But Charlotte is obsessed with the other girl who was kidnapped, who never got a second chance at life--the girl who nobody but Charlotte believes really existed. Until she can get justice for that girl, even if she has to do it on her own, whatever the danger, Charlotte will never be free.


Find out more information by checking out Clara's website or find more about the author's book here!

Website

BUY!

Hello YASHers! I’m so excited to be here, and thank you for hosting me, Lisa! This event is always so much fun, both as a reader and as an author. :) It’s an amazing opportunity to connect with favorite authors and to discover new ones.

My latest book, Aftermath (November 2016, Simon & Schuster/Merit Press), is about a teenage girl who is rescued four years after being kidnapped. She returns home, only to discover that her family has fallen apart in her absence. To put her broken family back together, and to help prove the existence of her captor’s first victim, the traumatized girl must first heal herself.

With that premise in mind, I was originally going to give you some self-defense tips for this post, so you could avoid situations like that for yourself and your own family. But I'm not an expert in self-defense (though I strongly believe everyone should take self-defense classes), so as I was gathering information to give you, I ran across many articles that state prevention is the best self-defense. I decided, instead of giving you a list of tips from other people, I would share with you an experience I had as a teenager in which I probably prevented being assaulted, abducted, or worse:

One night when I was sixteen, I went to the local drug store to buy hair products and makeup. I wandered up and down the aisles, browsing, picking up an item or two and putting it in my shopping basket. When I got to the last aisle, where the makeup was, I noticed a man hovering a few feet away. He had a gray-brown beard and he was wearing a tan jacket. I thought it was odd that an old man was in the cosmetics aisle. Then I realized that the man had been in every aisle that I'd been in, always hovering just a few feet away. Was he following me?

There'd been a few times over the past year, before I could drive and had my own car, that a bearded old man in a yellow pickup truck would pull up to me as I was walking home from school, tell me he loved me, and drive away.  I thought that was weird, but because he always drove away, I never told anyone. But now I wondered: was this man in the cosmetics aisle the Yellow Pickup Guy? No, he couldn't be.

I went to the cashier to buy my stuff. The man wasn't behind me anymore, so I assumed he left. But when I checked out and headed for the exit, the man was standing near the door, waiting. Was he waiting for me? I wondered again if he was the Yellow Pickup Guy, and decided again that no, he couldn't be. Maybe he was just a regular man who was killing time at the drug store while his wife picked up dinner at the barbeque carryout place a few stores down. Maybe. Probably.

But my gut told me that wasn't it at all. My gut told me that this was the same guy in the yellow pickup truck, and now he was following me around the drug store. My gut told me that if I left the store, he would continue to follow me into the dark parking lot, and my gut told me that if he followed me into the parking lot, I wouldn't make it home alive.

I'd driven myself to the drug store, but instead of leaving and heading for my car, I stayed inside. I peered out the big front window, pretending that I was waiting for my mom to pick me up. I looked at my wrist, pretending to check a watch. Peered outside again. I did this for about three minutes, and the man must have realized that he wasn't going to get me alone in the parking lot, so he left. I waited about five more minutes, then I left too, running to my car and driving straight home.

I could have been wrong about that man, but I believe that I saved my own life that night by listening to my gut.

BUT, I made some mistakes that I regret:

I still left the store alone. I should have asked the store manager or another employee to walk me to my car. I was sixteen, and a very shy kid, but I still should have asked for help.

I didn't tell anyone about the man when I got home. I should have told my mom. I should have told her about the Yellow Pickup Guy too, the very first time he pulled up beside me and told me he loved me. But the Yellow Pickup Guy always drove away, so I never said anything. And as for the man at the store, I was no longer sure he was the Yellow Pickup Guy, and I didn't have any proof that he was actually following me or intended to harm me. What if he was just browsing? What if my mom called the police, and they found the man and he was totally innocent? That would have been mortifying. And I didn't want my mom to forbid me go to go out alone anymore--I was sixteen, I had a car, and if I said something, I might lose my newfound independence. So I didn't tell her.

But now I feel guilty for not saying anything. What if that man followed a different girl into a dark parking lot, or what if Yellow Pickup Guy found a new girl to profess his love to, and those girls were assaulted? I could have prevented it if I'd just told my mother.

It happened thirty years ago, but I still think about that night a lot. And I always listen to my gut.

For more on self-defense and preventing assaults and abduction, please read the following articles:

Self Defense: http://kidshealth.org/en/teens/self-defense.html?WT.ac=ctg

Safety and Prevention: http://www.missingkids.com/Safety

Preventing Abduction: http://www.missingkids.com/en_US/publications/KidSmartz_Preventing_Abduction.pdf

Have you ever prevented something bad happening by listening to your gut or following you instincts? Tell me about it in the comments. What is your best self-defense tip?

And now… let the YA Scavenger Hunt continue!

Now, if you want a chance to win a TON of books, don't  forget to enter the contest! To enter, you need to know that my favorite number is THIRTEEN. Add up all the favorite numbers of the authors on the blue team and you'll have all the secret code to enter for the grand prize!

Want to win even more prizes? I'm hosting a BONUS GIVEAWAY!!

An ARC of THE LAST MAGICIAN

Yep. I'm pretty excited too!! Haven't heard of the book?? Here you go!


In modern day New York, magic is all but extinct. The remaining few who have an affinity for magic—the Mageus—live in the shadows, hiding who they are. Any Mageus who enters Manhattan becomes trapped by the Brink, a dark energy barrier that confines them to the island. Crossing it means losing their power—and often their lives.

Esta is a talented thief, and she's been raised to steal magical artifacts from the sinister Order that created the Brink. With her innate ability to manipulate time, Esta can pilfer from the past, collecting these artifacts before the Order even realizes she’s there. And all of Esta’s training has been for one final job: traveling back to 1901 to steal an ancient book containing the secrets of the Order—and the Brink—before the Magician can destroy it and doom the Mageus to a hopeless future.

But Old New York is a dangerous world ruled by ruthless gangs and secret societies, a world where the very air crackles with magic. Nothing is as it seems, including the Magician himself. And for Esta to save her future, she may have to betray everyone in the past.

I know, right?!

Starting APRIL 10th I will be kicking off an awesome event to help spread the word about THE LAST MAGICIAN: a Blog-hop scavenger hunt to introduce you to the characters and the world.

You'll be able to take quizzes to see if you're Mageus, how powerful you are, find out what role you'd have in the gang, and which of the Order's artifacts calls to you.

Then you can join THE DEVIL'S OWN to complete and win EXCLUSIVE PRIZES & SWAG...including your name in the sequel!

Every few weeks, you'll have the opportunity to compete for another chance to win an ARC, a pendant with one of the Order's magical stones, and other exclusive swag. Participate in all four weeks, and you can collect an exclusive series of bookmarks that make the map included in The Last Magician when they're put together. Members of The Devil's Own will get sneak peaks at TLM and its sequel, and they'll be the first to know about any new developments with the book.

But The Devil's Own doesn't take just anyone. You'll need an insider, someone to introduce you and pave the way. Luckily, you have me. All you have to do for a chance to win an ARC of THE LAST MAGICIAN is to sign up for The Devil's Own Mailing List:

CLICK HERE TO SIGN UP

You can earn extra entries by following me on social media and helping to spread the word! 

DON'T FORGET TO CONTINUE THE HUNT!!

To keep going on your quest for the hunt, you need to check out the next author! 

CLICK HERE TO KEEP HUNTING!