Lisa Maxwell
Lisa Maxwell

Chloe Sabourin's world was turned upside down three times over when she learned that the unspeakable murders in her native New Orleans—the ones that nearly claimed the life of her friend Lucy—were committed by Chloe's own mother, who is in reality the dark witch Thisbe. Moving on from that is the toughest thing she's ever had to do.

Now, a new series of ritualistic killings suggests that Thisbe is plotting again. Chloe seeks help from the mysterious Mama Legba, even though she's unsure whether she can trust the Voodoo Queen. But when her boyfriend Piers vanishes, all signs point to Thisbe, and Chloe must quickly learn all she can from Mama Legba to save the one person she has left...even if that means bringing down her own mother.


"Maxwell’s mixture of past and present, dreams and reality, speech and telepathy is immersive and delirious...offers psychological melodrama and ghoulish thrills."--Kirkus"

"Dark, sultry, and atmospheric, this novel yanks the reader inexorably into the story and does not let go." --VOYA

“Fans of gothic horror will eagerly flock to this spooky sequel.”—Booklist

"excels in its heady, Southern-drenched mood... Recommended for fans of Laini Taylor's Daughter of Smoke and Bone" --SLJ

Order Gathering Deep now: